Meridian Foods - Tamari Soya Sauce Multiple SizesBrand - Meridian Foods
‘Tis the season to be free from gluten! Meridian Foods Tamari Soya Sauce is a flavourful and traditionally-brewed sauce that has been aged in wooden kegs.
- Traditionally-Brewed Soya Sauce
- Made from Whole Soya Beans
- For Seasoning and Marinades
- Aged in Wooden Kegs
- No Artificial Ingredients
- Available in 150ml or 500ml
Tamari is a type of Japanese soy sauce. Unlike Shoyu, tamari is made without using wheat, with more of a focus on soya beans. That’s why tamari is a great gluten-free soy sauce.
The Meridian Foods Tamari Soya Sauce is a traditionally-brewed Soya Sauce. It is fermented using a Koji mould, also known as Aspergillus Oryzae, and aged in wooden kegs. It is completely natural and contains no artificial ingredients or preservatives.
Tamari Soya Sauce can be used as a dipping sauce or for basic seasoning. It can also be used for marinades, stir-fries, and salad dressings!
Soya Beans (43.5%), Water; Sea Salt, Alcohol (2.8%), Koji (Aspergillus oryzae).
Frequently Asked Questions
What makes Meridian Foods Tamari Soya Sauce special?
There are many types of soy sauce. Some come from China and some from Japan. Each country has different ways of making soy sauce.
Tamari itself is uniquely Japanese. More conventional Japanese-style soy sauces like Shoyu are made with equal parts soya beans and wheat. Tamari skips on the wheat and uses more of the soya beans. This is what makes tamari a gluten-free but extremely versatile seasoning.
What do you do when you want to replace regular soy sauce for Tamari Soya Sauce in recipes?
If you are replacing regular, run-of-the-mill soy sauce, the ratio should be 1:1. This is because Tamari, like most Japanese soy sauces, tends to be less salty in taste. But it is always better to add too little at first and add more later when needed.