Vegan Gum & Mints
Sort By ×
- Price, low to high
- Price, high to low
- Alphabetically, A-Z
- Alphabetically, Z-A
- Date, old to new
- Date, new to old
- Best Selling
Spry - Fresh Fruit Xylitol Gum, 10 Pieces | Multiple SizesNotify Me When Available
Milliways - Super Natural Chewing Gum (10 Pieces), 19g | Multiple Flavours & SizesNotify Me When Available
GoBeDo - Immune-Boosting Peppermint Gum, 18g | Multiple SizesNotify Me When Available
Sulá - Mint Humbugs Sugar-Free Sweets, 42g | Multiple SizesNotify Me When Available
Get More Vits - Chewing Gum, 10-Pack | Multiple FlavoursNotify Me When Available
VerMints - Organic Mints, 40g | Multiple FlavoursNotify Me When Available
VerMints - Organic Pastilles, 40g | Multiple FlavoursNotify Me When Available
Georganics - Natural Chewing Gum English Peppermint, 30 Chewing GumsNotify Me When Available
Staying Fresh With Vegan Gum and Mints
Mint is often associated with dental hygiene and care. Why is that? Are there any health benefits to using mint in toothpaste or mouthwash? The simple answer is no. While the mint plant itself has a handful of health benefits, there’s not enough of it in your average mouthwash, vegan toothpaste, plant-based chewing gum or vegan mints worth noting.
But mint has to be used for a reason, right? Yes! Mint often leaves our mouths tingling with coolness, which is where we get that cool and fresh feeling. To this day, a lot of vegan gums and vegan mints are flavoured with…you guessed it… mint! Sure there are other flavours, but there simply is no replacing the coolness that organic peppermints bring.
While vegan gum and vegan mints won’t replace the effectiveness and use of your toothbrush and toothpaste, they’re always great to have just in case. They can be lifesavers for impromptu meetings, interviews, and first dates!
Why Aren’t All Organic Gums and Organic Mints Vegan?
You might be thinking that ALL natural organic gums and organic mints are vegan. I mean, they have to be, right? That’s not the case! You see, not all the ingredients used to make them are vegan. One of the most important things to look out for is what makes them sweet, and we’ll get to that if you continue reading. That’s why you have to be careful when you buy chewing gum online.
Vegan mints and plant-based chewing gum are mindful to skip the use of most (if not all) refined sugars. One particular sugar they skip on is those that come from sugarcane. In order for refined sugar to get its distinctive white colour, some animal bone char is needed to process it. Aside from white sugar, brown sugar is also known to use the same animal byproduct mixed in with molasses to achieve the brown colour we’re familiar with.
With that said, honey also isn’t on the ingredient list. So, what do the vegan chewing gums online here at PlantX have instead? Plant-based sweeteners!
What Plant-Based Sweeteners Do Vegan Gum and Organic Mints Use?
One very popular vegan sweetener is xylitol. Xylitol is naturally found in certain fruits and is considered one of the best alternatives out there. While sweet, xylitol is not a sugar. It is not known to spike blood sugar levels or contain the same caloric content as regular sugar. Another reason why a lot of brands opt to use xylitol is that they taste similar to regular sugar. So, it’s a pretty straightforward replacement when it comes to taste.
The next sweetener you may have already heard of is stevia! When it comes to taste, stevia has a different, distinct liquorice aftertaste. It’s not that strong of a taste, but some people don’t prefer it. Stevia itself comes from the leaves of the stevia plant. When it comes down to the actual sweetness, stevia is leaps and bounds sweeter than xylitol.
With regards to both stevia and xylitol, they are not considered sugar. That’s why you’ll see brands marketing their vegan gums and organic mints as sugar-free or naturally sweetened. They aren’t exactly lying, but at least you’re informed of what the labels could mean!
Plant-Based Chewing Gums And Organic Mints We Love
There’s a lot going for VerMints’ Organic Mints. They’re gluten-free, nut-free, non-GMO, kosher, and certified organic mints! Plus, you can get them in a number of flavours like cinnamon, wintergreen, or peppermint (we personally love the organic peppermints).
Same gluten-free, nut-free, non-GMO, kosher, and organic recipe - but this time in pastille form! VerMints’ Organic Pastilles are available in a couple of flavours here at PlantX. You can get the Cafe Express or the Chai flavour.
Nuud Gum’s Plastic-Free Chewing Gum
A lot of gum comes in plastic packets. Not this one! Nuud Gum’s Plastic-Free Chewing Gum comes in a biodegradable pack. You can choose from peppermint and spearmint flavours and they’re all sugar-free!
Candy Shack’s Sugar-Free Mint Humbugs
Candy Shack’s Sugar-Free Mint Humbugs are handmade, traditional candies that are naturally sweetened. They’re free from artificial colours, flavours, or preservatives, and they’re just great vegan mints to have!
Frequently Asked Questions
Aren't organic peppermints already considered vegan?
Generally, yes they are. But not quite! Some organic peppermints do contain animal products and by-products, such as gelatin or carmine. While not all manufacturers make their mints using those two ingredients, it is worth noting!
And, just to remind you of what we tackled early on, a lot of refined sugars are not vegan! They require bone char to process so be on the lookout for gums and mints that are made with those.
Why do I often see xylitol in vegan mints and plant-based chewing gum?
That’s because xylitol is a naturally-occurring sugar alcohol that can be found in plants. It is usually used to sweeten sugar-free mints and gum. Xylitol is generally regarded as better than regular sugar with the latter being more heavily processed.
Another one you might also come across is stevia. And they’re both plant-based sweeteners that are sugar-free.
Why does my plant-based chewing gum and vegan mint say “aspartame-free”? What is aspartame and why should I avoid it?
Aspartame is an artificial sweetener. It is a widely used and common sugar substitute. While aspartame is generally considered to be vegan, who would want to eat anything that contains artificial sweeteners?
Aspartame is actually sweeter than sugar. That’s why a lot of manufacturers like using it. They can add little, but achieve the same amount of sweetness that regular sugar would bring!
When is the ideal time to have vegan mints or organic natural gum?
We get it, you want to stay minty fresh! You can enjoy a minty treat after eating. But one trick people often suggest is drinking a glass of water after every meal to avoid stinky breath. That’s because the water can help remove bits of food from your mouth. After that, you can help it along by trying a vegan mint!