Vegan Mayonnaise – PlantX UK

The Sauce on Vegan Mayonnaise

Did you know that regular and vegan mayonnaise are both considered sauces? You don’t really think about it but once you do, it’s actually surprising! 

Mayonnaise is said to be a product of French cuisine. But it may actually have Spanish origins. Regardless of the origin, mayo and vegan mayo are popular around the world. That’s why there are different kinds of mayo depending on where you go. Japanese mayo, one of the more popular variants, is made with rice vinegar. Russian mayonnaise is made with different oils like sunflower oil or soybean oil.

That said, original mayo is traditionally made by mixing egg yolks, oil, and some kind of acid like vinegar or orange juice. Vegan mayonnaise is made by replacing egg yolks with an ingredient with similar consistency - and that’s usually different kinds of oils. You’ll notice quite a few vegan mayonnaise uses canola oil, safflower oil, or sunflower oil. It’s not just one oil, either. A lot of veganaise is made with a blend or a mixture of different oils.

There are loads of different kinds of organic mayonnaise, but none is more important (in our humble opinion) than vegan mayonnaise! If you’re curious as to why we love vegan mayonnaise, keep on reading so that we can tell you why veganaise is great!

Why Vegan Mayonnaise is Great

Vegan mayonnaise exists for many reasons. First up is that some people are allergic to eggs! It’s also concerning that egg allergies are more common in children. Since kids share their lunches with each other or trade them, it’s always safer to use vegan mayonnaise than regular ones to avoid any unwanted emergencies!

The second reason why veganaise is better is that it doesn’t bring the cholesterol regular mayo does. Vegan mayonnaise has no eggs. Eggs are commonly known to have amounts of cholesterol. The main culprit, in particular, is the egg yolk. Considering how traditional mayo is made with the yolks of eggs, non-vegan mayonnaise is a must-skip!

Vegan mayonnaise, on the upside, contains zero eggs. We’ve heard of horror stories about chicken farms not being up to code. That means chickens end up living in non-ideal conditions and don’t even get any time outdoors. By enjoying great-tasting vegan mayonnaise, you help cut the need for numerous chicken coops. I’m sure our clucky friends would appreciate every bit of help! So enjoy your vegan mayonnaise with a good conscience!

Top vegan mayonnaise brands to try

Check out Creemi’s line of Plant-Based Mayo. You’ll see how different blends of plant-based ingredients yield different kinds of mayo variants! Like they said, you don’t need eggs to make great mayo.

Vegan mayo can do more than eliminate eggs. Follow Your Heart’s Soya-Free Vegenaise, as you can tell from the name, is free from soy. It’s also free from gluten and dairy!

Another favourite plant-based mayonnaise uses healthier oils compared to regular mayo. Check out Follow Your Heart’s Avocado Oil Vegenaise for a perfect example for this!

Frequently Asked Questions

How is vegan mayo processed?

In lieu of eggs, vegan mayonnaise can be made with soya or pea protein. They still are made with oils like safflower oil, canola oil, and even sunflower oil. As for the acid, apple cider vinegar or lemon juice is often used in vegan mayo.

Vegan Mayo vs Regular Mayo: Is Vegan Mayo Healthier?

We can’t speak for the whole lot, but vegan mayonnaise could potentially be better than regular mayo if you want to skip on the cholesterol and saturated fat content. If you’ve read the earlier bits, you’ll know that eggs (the yolk, in particular) is the cause of cholesterol and fat content. Granted, they don’t contain dangerously high amounts, but it is still something worth considering.

As for the taste, it’s all a preference call. There are some brands that taste better for some than others. But keep in mind that plant-based mayonnaise often imitates the taste of your fave mayos!

What nutrition do we get from vegan mayo?

Because vegan mayo does have a similar ingredient list to regular mayo, it’s best to look at the specific brand’s ingredients list and see how it’s better. Plant-based mayo tends to have less saturated fat and cholesterol compared to regular mayo.

And lastly, vegan mayo usually contains fewer calories. Again, that’s because it skips the eggs. 

What can I do with my vegan mayo?

Slather some on bread to make a tasty sandwich, drizzle some on top of salad to make a vegan dressing, or dip your freshly cut carrots in it to make a relatively healthy snack. Vegan mayonnaise can do whatever regular can do…and it tastes great, too.

Speaking of sandwiches, get this wonderful can of Loma Linda Tuna (Tuno) Mayo. It's got the tuna taste and tuna texture but contains zero tuna. Oh, and it’s gluten-free as well!

Why does organic mayo taste different?

All mayos taste different if you really think about it. Sometimes, organic mayo uses more of one ingredient than the other to achieve a signature taste. A different taste in no way means it has gone bad. It’s just different.

This is similar to egg-based mayo. Western mayo tastes different from Eastern mayo like Japanese mayo because the latter has a bit of vinegar in it. But are both of them still classified as mayo? Of course, they are!

Where and how should I store my vegan mayo?

Just like regular mayo, don’t let your jars of vegan mayo sit at room temp for long! It is best to keep them refrigerated when not in use. Keep that jar sealed shut, too. Open jars don’t really fare well in general.

If you have a jar of mayo that’s been sat inside the fridge for long, do give it a look and sniff test before you go adding it to your salads or sandwiches. You can quite easily tell if your vegan mayo has gone off without much trouble at all.

We use cookies to help give you the best experience on our site and to allow us to customize the content you see across our websites and social media. For more information see our Privacy Policy.